
If you have started looking into braces, you have probably already found prices that vary by thousands of dollars. One practice might advertise treatment from around $5,000, while another suggests allowing $9,000 or more, and neither figure necessarily tells you what your own treatment will cost. There is no set fee for braces in Australia: the price depends on the type of braces, how much movement is required, how long treatment is expected to take and what the provider includes. Drawing on published Australian price guides and patient-reported data, a full course generally sits between about $5,000 and $15,000 depending on the appliance: metal braces around $5,000 to $9,000, ceramic around $6,000 to $9,500, and lingual braces, which are fixed behind the teeth, around $9,000 to $15,000. Limited treatment on the front teeth alone can be considerably less. The published sources do not fully agree, and the comparison below shows where they part company. These figures are indicative only, not direct quotes, fixed fees or a prediction of what you will pay, and are meant to help you understand the questions worth asking and walk into a consultation with a clearer idea of the likely range. This page is general information only, not medical, dental or financial advice: the suitable treatment, likely result and final cost can only be discussed after an assessment by a registered dental practitioner.
What braces may cost in Australia
These ranges reflect professional guidance and patient-reported data, and should not be treated as a fee schedule. One quote may include scans, regular appointments and the first set of retainers, while another lists some of those costs separately. The useful number is not the advertised starting price, but the expected total, with inclusions and possible extra charges set out clearly.
Use these numbers as a reference point, not a target. If a quote sits well above the range for that appliance, it is entirely reasonable to ask which parts of your treatment account for the gap and to have the answer written into the plan.
- Metal braces
- Indicative cost in Australia$5,000 to $9,000
- Ceramic braces
- Indicative cost in Australia$6,000 to $9,500
- Clear aligners, including Invisalign
- Indicative cost in Australia$6,000 to $9,500
- Lingual braces
- Indicative cost in Australia$9,000 to $15,000
- Limited treatment, front teeth only
- Indicative cost in Australia$3,500 to $6,000
- Retainers after treatment
- Indicative cost in AustraliaOften charged separately, ask for the figure in writing
| Treatment | Indicative cost in Australia |
|---|---|
| Metal braces | $5,000 to $9,000 |
| Ceramic braces | $6,000 to $9,500 |
| Clear aligners, including Invisalign | $6,000 to $9,500 |
| Lingual braces | $9,000 to $15,000 |
| Limited treatment, front teeth only | $3,500 to $6,000 |
| Retainers after treatment | Often charged separately, ask for the figure in writing |
Where the published sources disagree
Australia has no orthodontic fee schedule. The Australian Dental Association fee survey does not publish orthodontic treatment prices publicly, and no government body collects them, so the two useful published sources are a professional body writing an editorial guide and a platform collecting prices from patients after the fact.
They disagree in a consistent direction. Orthodontics Australia sits higher, describing a full comprehensive course over 15 to 18 months. CostDoc sits lower, because the reports it collects include shorter and simpler cases alongside full courses. The honest reading is that the professional guide describes the upper part of the market and the patient reports describe the middle of it.
- Metal braces
- Orthodontics Australia guide$6,000 to $9,000
- CostDoc patient reportsMedian $5,814, from 100 reports
- Ceramic braces
- Orthodontics Australia guide$6,500 to $9,500
- CostDoc patient reportsMedian $6,789, from 163 reports
- Lingual braces
- Orthodontics Australia guide$9,500 to $15,000
- CostDoc patient reportsMedian $10,435, from 113 reports
- Clear aligners
- Orthodontics Australia guide$6,500 to $9,500
- CostDoc patient reportsMedian $6,275, from 209 reports
- Limited treatment, front teeth only
- Orthodontics Australia guide$3,500 to $6,000
- CostDoc patient reportsNot reported separately
| Appliance | Orthodontics Australia guide | CostDoc patient reports |
|---|---|---|
| Metal braces | $6,000 to $9,000 | Median $5,814, from 100 reports |
| Ceramic braces | $6,500 to $9,500 | Median $6,789, from 163 reports |
| Lingual braces | $9,500 to $15,000 | Median $10,435, from 113 reports |
| Clear aligners | $6,500 to $9,500 | Median $6,275, from 209 reports |
| Limited treatment, front teeth only | $3,500 to $6,000 | Not reported separately |
Metal, ceramic and invisible braces: how costs compare
Metal braces are often the least expensive fixed option. Brackets are attached to the front of the teeth and joined by a wire, which is adjusted during treatment. Published sources put them at roughly $5,000 to $9,000, with patient-reported prices clustering around a median of about $5,814. Metal braces are visible, but they can be used for many kinds of tooth and bite movement, and a dentist or orthodontist can explain whether they are suitable.
Ceramic braces work in a similar way to metal braces, but use tooth-coloured or clear brackets that are less noticeable from a distance. Published sources put them at roughly $6,000 to $9,500, with patient-reported prices clustering around a median of about $6,789. They usually cost more than standard metal braces, so check whether each quote covers the same appointments, treatment period and retainers, as a price difference may reflect more than the brackets.
Lingual braces are fixed to the back of the teeth. This makes them harder to see, but their design and placement can require more specialised planning and adjustment. Published sources put them at roughly $9,000 to $15,000, making them the highest-priced option in this comparison. Not every practice offers lingual treatment, and it will not suit every case, so ask about cleaning, comfort and appointment requirements as well as the fee.
Clear aligner treatment uses a series of removable trays rather than brackets and wires. Invisalign is one brand, not a general name for every clear aligner system, and published sources put a full course at roughly $6,000 to $9,500. Some advertised prices cover a limited course, so ask whether additional trays and retainers are included.
Do braces cost more for adults than for children?
There is no single adult price and child price. The fee is usually shaped more by the treatment required than by age alone. A child may need treatment in more than one stage, while another may only need monitoring at first, and for adults, previous dental work, gum health or a complex bite can change the plan.
For a child, ask whether the fee covers one stage or the entire expected course, and whether observation appointments are included. For an adult, ask whether dental work needs to be completed first, as it may sit outside the orthodontic quote.
What changes the price of braces?
The type of braces matters, but it is rarely the only reason two quotes differ. The total may also be affected by the movement required and the complexity of the bite, whether one or both arches are treated, the expected length of treatment, scans, X-rays, photographs and other records, additional appliances or procedures, the number and frequency of appointments, replacement brackets, lost aligners or missed appointments, retainers and follow-up after active treatment, and the provider's qualifications, location and fee structure.
A general dentist may provide some orthodontic treatment within their training and scope of practice, while an orthodontist is a dentist with specialist registration in orthodontics. The title is protected in Australia, and specialist registration can be checked through the Ahpra register of practitioners. The right provider depends on the treatment required, not simply which title produces the lower quote.
What should an orthodontic quote include?
A good quote should explain the likely total. Ask for the proposed treatment, appliance type, full fee and payment schedule, records, scans, X-rays and adjustment appointments, additional appliances, repairs or replacements, extra clear aligner trays if relevant, removal, retainers and follow-up, and charges if treatment takes longer than planned, all in writing.
If two totals are far apart, compare the treatment plans, since the providers may be recommending different approaches or inclusions.
Does the Child Dental Benefits Schedule cover braces?
No. The Child Dental Benefits Schedule does not cover orthodontic dental work, including braces. It covers certain basic dental services for eligible children, but Services Australia specifically excludes orthodontic work, cosmetic dental work and dental services provided in hospital.
In 2026, eligible children can receive up to $1,158 over two consecutive calendar years for covered services. That balance cannot be used for braces, although it may cover eligible basic dental care that is separate from the orthodontic treatment. Check eligibility and the remaining balance with Services Australia.
Can private health insurance help pay for braces?
Some extras policies include orthodontics, but the benefit is unlikely to cover the whole cost. Extras policies may pay a percentage of a service or a set amount, and coverage differs between policies.
Orthodontic benefits often have waiting periods, annual limits or lifetime limits. Before treatment starts, ask your fund whether orthodontics is included and the waiting period has been served, what annual and lifetime limits apply, how much has already been claimed, what is needed for a benefit estimate, and when benefits are paid during treatment. You can compare policies through PrivateHealth.gov.au, and request a benefit estimate from your fund using the treatment plan, since a policy summary cannot calculate your personal rebate.
Payment plans and other ways to manage the cost
Many providers allow the fee to be paid over the treatment period, often through a deposit and regular instalments.
Before agreeing, check whether the payment plan changes the total fee. Ask about establishment charges, interest, late fees and what happens if treatment is paused or transferred to another provider. If external credit is involved, read the credit terms separately from the clinical treatment agreement.
Before you choose a provider
Start with the treatment plan, then look at the cost. Braces are worn and adjusted over many months, so you need to understand who will manage the treatment, where appointments take place and what support is available if something breaks or feels wrong.
Check the practitioner's registration, ask questions until the quote makes sense and get the expected fees in writing. The figures in this guide can help you recognise the broad market range, but only an assessment can establish which options are clinically appropriate and what your own treatment will cost.
Find braces and orthodontics near you
Dentist360 lists practices across NSW, Queensland, the ACT and Melbourne, with opening hours, health funds and accessibility compared side by side.
Frequently asked
Published Australian sources put a full course at roughly $5,000 to $15,000. Metal braces sit towards the lower end, while lingual braces sit towards the higher end. Your quote may vary with the treatment required, its length, the provider and what is included.
Metal braces are usually the lowest-priced fixed option, at roughly $5,000 to $9,000 depending on the treatment required. The least expensive suitable treatment can only be identified after an assessment, because the options available depend on the tooth and bite movement required.
Sometimes, but not always. A quote may include one set of retainers after the braces are removed, while replacement or long-term retainers are charged separately. Ask how many retainers are supplied, which type is proposed and what replacements currently cost.
Medicare does not generally cover routine orthodontic treatment. The Child Dental Benefits Schedule also excludes orthodontic dental work. Some private health extras policies provide a limited orthodontic benefit, subject to waiting periods and annual or lifetime limits.
Many practices offer staged payments during treatment. Terms vary, so ask for the deposit, instalment amount, payment period and total payable in writing. Check whether interest or administration fees apply and what happens if the treatment plan changes.
Sources
This guide is general information, written from the published sources listed below. It is not a substitute for advice from a registered dental practitioner.
CHOICE
Orthodontic braces vs aligners, dentists vs orthodontistsOrthodontics Australia, 2023
How much do braces cost?Healthdirect Australia, 2025
Dental braces and retainersServices Australia, 2026
Child Dental Benefits Schedule, what's coveredAustralian Government Department of Health, Disability and Ageing
Child Dental Benefits ScheduleAustralian Government Department of Health, Disability and Ageing
Private health insurance waiting periodsCostDoc, 2026
Metal braces cost in Australia, patient-reported pricesCostDoc, 2026
Ceramic braces cost in Australia, patient-reported pricesCostDoc, 2026
Lingual braces cost in Australia, patient-reported pricesCostDoc, 2026
Invisalign cost in Australia, patient-reported pricesCostDoc, 2026
Methodology, how CostDoc collects and publishes price dataOrthodontics Australia
How much are metal braces in Australia?


